• 2019 Sumter County Awards Banquet honors SFD and EMS

    Search Our Website:

    April 5 2019 Sumter Fire Department and Sumter EMS Awards at Sumter County Civic Center 1

    The 2019 Sumter County Awards Banquet was held April 4, 2019, at the Sumter County Civic Center to honor outstanding first responders of the Sumter Fire Department and Sumter County Emergency Medical Services.

    Sumter County Council sponsored the event and after opening remarks by Sumter Fire Chief Karl Ford and EMS Chief Bobby Hingst, the Sumter Fire Department Honor Guard presented the colors and Patty Patterson sang “The Star Spangled Banner.”

    Chaplain David Bagwell offered an invocation and dinner followed. The guest speaker was S.C. Firefighter Academy Superintendent Dennis Ray and Sumter County Administrator Gary Mixon presented the awards. City Councilwoman Ione Dwyer also thanked the first responders for their hard work and dedication.

    EMT of the Year - Private Christopher Kirven; Advanced EMT of the Year - Victoria Matthews; Paramedic of the Year - Cpl. Cody Dyson; Manager of the Year - Asst. Chief Kent Hall; Firefighter of the Year - Joshua Dubose ; Officer of the Year - Cameron Northrop ; Career Center Student of 2019 - Hunter Cockerill

    2019 Station Firefighter of the Year

    Cherryvale – Alexander Farley; Pinewood – Daren Avins Jr.; Graham – T.J. Klavon; Pleasant Grove – Henry Gamble; Mayesville – James Clark ; Dalzell – Richard Palmer; Wedgefield – Wendell Patterson; Rembert – Devante Payne ; Concord – Justin McCoy; Horatio – Gavin Foxworth; Dubose – William Dyson; Bethel – Joshua Dubose; Beech Creek – Jameson Bucci; Byrds – Lee Moore; Dabbs – Ernest Frierson

    2019 Station Officer of the Year

    Cherryvale – Cameron Northrop; Pinewood – K.J. Hall; Graham – Troy Lamontagne; Pleasant Grove – Jim Phillips; Mayesville – Xander Compton; Dalzell – David Bagwell; Wedgefield – Sean Sutton; Rembert – Simon Grant; Concord – Robbie Watts; Horatio – William Boykin; Dubose – Cody Dyson; Bethel – Tripp Mays; Oswego – Bassett Ali; Beech Creek – Victor Smith; Byrds – David M. Floyd ; Dabbs – Johnny Watts

    April 5 2019 Sumter Fire Department and Sumter EMS Awards at Sumter County Civic Center 64